WU LYF, “Dirt”

I first listened to this album while trying to escape the boulevards and resort developments of Hilton Head, and exhausted from a long day in the Southern heat, the inscrutable shouting of WU LYF didn’t quite have the impact on my consciousness that it ought to have had. Nonetheless, I knew in the back of my head that given the appropriate circumstances, their debut album, “Go Tell Fire on the Mountain,” could and would be something I would enjoy. Since then, I’ve had plenty of opportunity to appreciate their hyped release, and am pleased to say it’s one of my favorite releases of the year.

Check out the video for the track “Dirt,” one of my personal favorites, below. If you’ve never heard WU LYF before, I recommend listening to the track without watching the video first. The video displays the song’s lyrics as they are sung, and some of the power and mystery of the track is lost in the process. Nonetheless, after first hearing the song, the lyrics add an additional layer of meaning.

Without further ado, enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Alt/Indie, Music

Leave a Reply

