The Big Chill: Original Soundtrack (1983)

For a film I’ve never seen, the soundtrack to Lawrence Kasdan’s 1983 The Big Chill plays a surprisingly prominent role in my life. I was introduced to the soundtrack as one of the more frequently played cassette tapes that my mother owned, and was turned back onto it during my undergrad when a friend of mine and I realized that, though neither of us had seen the film, we’d both grown up listening to that cassette. The soundtrack itself is filled primarily with soul classics from the mid-1960s, along with a couple hippy-rock gems, including Three Dog Night’s anthemic “Joy to the World.” Particular favourites of mine have always included Smokey Robinson’s “Tracks of My Tears” and Aretha Franklin’s “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman,” though there’s not a dud track in the bunch. So, kick back and enjoy some Smokey and Aretha or better yet, go out pick up a copy, on cassette, of course.

Smokey Robinson & the Miracles, “Tracks of My Tears” (1966)

Aretha Franklin, “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” (1968)

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Rock, Soul

One response to “The Big Chill: Original Soundtrack (1983)

  1. Maty

    I love The Big Chill! It’s pretty much a montage of friends hanging out listening to good music.

Leave a Reply

